Faith Exploration Resources

The Sacraments

Sacraments of Initiation Sacraments of Healing Sacraments of Service

Baptism Reconciliation Holy Matrimony

Confirmation Anointing of the Sick Holy Orders


The Ten Commandments

  1. I am the Lord your God. You shall not have strange gods before me.

  2. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.

  3. Remember to keep holy the Lord’s day.

  4. Honor your father and your mother.

  5. You shall not kill.

  6. You shall not commit adultery.

  7. You shall not steal.

  8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.

  9. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife.

  10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s goods.

The Great Commandment

“You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your

soul, with all your strength, and with all your mind; and your

neighbor as yourself.”


Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are they who mourn, for they will be comforted.

Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the land.

Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be satisfied.

Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.

Blessed are the clean of heart, for they will see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.

Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Matthew 5:3-10

Gifts of the Holy Spirit

Courage – Fortitude

Wonder and Awe – Fear of the Lord



Right Judgment – Counsel

Reverence – Piety

Fruits of the Holy Spirit

Charity Joy Peace

Patience Kindness Goodness

Generosity Gentleness Faithfulness

Modesty Self-Control Chastity

Holy Days

(observed in the United States)

December 25 – Christmas, the Nativity of the Lord

January 1 – Solemnity of Mary the Mother of God

40 Days after Easter – Ascension of the Lord

August 15 – Assumption

November 1 – All Saints Day

December 8 – Immaculate Conception

Corporal Works of Mercy- for the body

Feed the hungry.

Give drink to the thirsty.

Clothe the naked.

Shelter the homeless.

Visit the sick.

Visit the imprisoned.

Bury the dead.

Spiritual Works of Mercy– for the spirit

Warm the sinner.

Teach the ignorant.

Counsel the doubtful.

Comfort the sorrowful.

Bear wrongs patiently.

Forgive injuries.

Pray for the living and the dead.

Way of the Cross


            1. Jesus prays in the Garden of Olives.

            2. Jesus is betrayed by Judas and arrested.

            3. Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin.

            4. Jesus is denied by Peter.

            5. Jesus is condemned by Pontius Pilate.

            6. Jesus is scourged and crowned with thrones.

            7. Jesus is made to carry the cross.

            8. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus.

            9. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem.

            10. Jesus is crucified.

            11. Jesus promised the kingdom to the thief who repents.

            12. Jesus speaks to his mother and his friend John.

            13. Jesus dies on the cross.

            14. Jesus is laid in the tomb.